Skip to content

I Believe I Have Scheduled An Interview…

April 17, 2012

“Excuse me, do you work here?” a lady asks me.

I get that.  Not too often, but when it does, it throws me for a loop. 

When it comes to getting help, I’m the number one guy.  It doesn’t matter if I’m in my Sunday best or trying to pass for one of the local bums.  Maybe there’s a way that I carry myself that most people don’t…

I’m reminded of a drill instructor in Parris Island, who was looking for someone (else) to pass out Gatorades and boxed lunches to all the recruits ready to die for Basic Training.  He looked through the line and spotted me.

“You look like you know what you’re doing,” he told me.  I wasn’t sure if he was being sarcastic, but I knew that the work would keep me from nodding off.

It doesn’t stop me from being surprised.  It also doesn’t stop people from asking.  Even if I haven’t worked there in years.  Or at all.

Yet I found myself in the most awkward of situations when a customer at a sneaker store asked if I was working there, while I was waiting to be interviewed.  I didn’t know what to say.  I couldn’t find anyone else (as years of customer service had taught me).  Hell, I still hadn’t even been interviewed yet.

It eased some of the tension that I was feeling.  To plan a trip to Texas one week to getting canned the next was nowhere even remotely close to what I had in mind.  I was out looking for (another) job, despite starting the New Year off with two of them, now having to explain why I got canned from both of those jobs.

All while having to deal with a disappointed grandmother (that I live with), who doesn’t know that my last employer and I weren’t even on the same book (let alone, the same page).  She just sees her grandson losing yet another job, because I clocked out for break late.  If you live outside the state of California, you read that last sentence right.  You’re required to clock out for break 4 hours and 45 minutes after you punch in, and I’ve been late by 5 minutes (at most).

Adding to my issue is the cost of bus fare and food.  It’s $5 to go back and forth from the area I live in.  It ain’t bad, but when you don’t have any money, that $5 turns into $50.  It’s money I can’t afford to waste.

So it’s imperative that I can grab myself an occupation, if you count out the trip to Texas.  I’m not the type that can afford to waste time and/or money.

I was apprehensive.  I wasn’t trying to lose money/time, I wanted to be done with the past and I wanted these guys to like me enough to welcome me into their company.  Tough shoes to fit in, no pun intended.

I calmed down, despite ready to have a heart attack and I answered as calmly and carefully as I could.  I believed I aced it, mainly because I didn’t find me nitpicking myself.  I was in the driver’s seat, looked people in the eye, and answered questions as best as I could.

Once the interview was done, I was told that I would get a call about the job no later than Friday.  I hadn’t even left the store for 5 minutes when I got a call back saying that the hiring manager wanted to have a phone interview with me tomorrow.  Not sure if that’s a good thing, but with the pressure backing off and momentum picking up, I look to make one more good impression…

One Comment
  1. miss t-lee permalink

    It’s always good when they contact you quickly. I’m sure have the job in the bag. Let us know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

